When you hire a roofing contractor, Colorado has some laws in place to protect you. The official title of these laws is Colorado Senate Bill 12-038, SB 38. It specifically applies to roofing work with costs exceeding $1000 and roofing insurance claims.
In layman’s terms, here is what these laws mean to you – Roofing Bill of Rights.
The roofer must provide a written and signed contract for services provided. The contract must include:
- Scope of work & materials to be provided.
- Cost for Roof written on contract.
- Approximate dates of service
- Roofing contractor’s contact information
- Identification of contractor’s Insurance information.
- 72 hour right of rescission.
- 72 Hour right of rescission if claim is denied in whole or part.
- Contractor’s cancellation policy (Cancellation Fee).
The bill also prohibits a roofer from paying, waiving or rebating your insurance deductible.
It requires a contractor to return any payment or deposit made within 10 days of cancelling the contract.
NOTE: If the contractor has a cancellation fee, you may want to get a second roofer to provide an estimate. Cancellation fees aren’t necessary and really only serve one purpose: get in your wallet.